Film Payroll Workshops – Video Of How It Works

Here’s a quick video on how the Payroll Workshops are set-up and the general procedure. As you can see there’s lots of practice geared toward actual references to the relevant Agreement.

About filmproduction
I have worked in the film production industry since 1985, working on over 50 different productions of every size in 6 different countries. My self-published book, "Walk The Talk" is written in an easy to read manner for film students and working professionals who haven't had the chance to learn how to 'Direct the Money'.

5 Responses to Film Payroll Workshops – Video Of How It Works

  1. John,
    Payroll workshop looks great. please consider bringing it to Toronto, or allowing paid on-line access either realtime or after the fact. Thanks! – Andrew G. Munro

  2. Dontrell Baines says:

    Hello Mr Gaskin, I am a recent college graduate from Tennessee Tech University in Accounting and I am currently seeking my CPA here in Atlanta, Ga. My main reason for majoring in Accounting was to do Production Accounting and to be able to travel while doing my work. I have been told numerous times that it is not what you know but who you know in the business. You seem like the right person to know in this industry that could help me get my career going in the right direction. I understand that you are extremely busy, but any advice of comments that you could provide for me would be of great appreciation.

    • Hi, Dontrell. Thanks for commenting. There are a few things you can do to get started – the first is simply call up any production in Atlanta and ask if you can work as an intern for a few weeks. I was really impressed with one of the financial directors at Tyler Perry Studios. He attended one of my workshops and really impressed me as a gentleman and someone who wants to help others. (I can’t give his name without his permission). Start with the Georgia Film Commisions – call/email:
      Lee Thomas Director – Film 404-962-4048 lthomas@georgia.org

      Tell him what you want to do. As much as possible find a way to meet a production accountant on a Tyler Perry production in Atalnta and pitch him/her that you’re willing to work the hours as an intern (unpaid) for a couple to three weeks) and that you’re good at handling paperwork.

      Let me know how it goes!

      Best / John

Leave a Reply

