Film Accounting – Los Angeles/Toronto May/June 2012

Hello, all.
I’m back in the tour mode of delivering workshops – I also just finished fine tuning 5 on-line payroll courses. Sorry for being out of communication for a while there. I have been swamped with a big TV Series which we just closed last Friday.
The workshops are in Los Angeles on Sat/Sun May 19th and 20th, as well as Toronto on June 2nd and 3rd. I’s also looking at going back to Detroit as well as well as a first visit to Mississippi, if there’s enough interest in that area.
The workshops are on Film Accounting with a follow up series of 6 live on-line webinars – all on the topic of Managing Film Budgets and Cost Reports – something which all levels of Producers should know about. You can find out more by visiting my web site at http://www.talkfilm.biz.
As a freebie, here area couple of interesting videos about SAG and an introductory video to IATSE crew agreements for the “National Low Budget Agreement” and the “Area Standards Agreements”.  The Low Budget Agreement covers all crew agreements throughout the US and Canada for all union productions under $12Million. If you want to produce, you’ve got to be on at least a handshake agreement with this one. The Area Standards Agreement covers bigger budget shows throughout most of the land mass of America (excluding the West Coast, New York, Chicago and San Francisco).
The workshops are for those who really want to know about Film Accounting from the ground up. The webinars are for those who either want to get the tools required by any level of Producer, or are interested in being a Key Film Accountant.
The video links are:
The links to the agreements are:
Best to all / John
About filmproduction
I have worked in the film production industry since 1985, working on over 50 different productions of every size in 6 different countries. My self-published book, "Walk The Talk" is written in an easy to read manner for film students and working professionals who haven't had the chance to learn how to 'Direct the Money'.

4 Responses to Film Accounting – Los Angeles/Toronto May/June 2012

  1. manuel says:

    Thanks, John. I find your site one-of-a-kind. Interesting and always knowledgeable. Especially advantageous for me since I’m a recent Accounting grad. The direction I’m headed now is a CPA designation. About 9 months are left to complete it. I want to work out in LA, but I’m in Vancouver. A Canadian citizen. I want experience as a film accountant out here first before I make my move to LA. Do you have any suggestions which accounting companies I could contact for work? Thanks in advance.

    • Hi, Manuel. As it happens I’m working in Toronto. I know a couple of film accountants in Vancouver. Let me know when you’re ready and we can talk about ways to meet film contacts in Van.

      Best / John

  2. Wade says:

    I’m an indie filmmaker and am gearing up for my second feature. The first was financed in a scramble – out of my own pocket. This go-round, I’m upping the ante, and trying to raise money from donors/investors. I went to my CPA for advice, and she ultimately gave me the boot – told me she isn’t well-versed in Film industry accounting, and advised me to find another accountant. I’ve been searching for over and hour now, and can’t seem to find someone in my smallish area (western Massachusetts) that specializes in entertainment. Any tips on how to find an accountant? I’m looking for someone who can handle my personal annual tax return, my production company tax return (which will be making the film), and the return for my production studio (a separate business, which shoots locally for pay with two partners). And, of course, someone who can provide advice on ins and outs of all the above. Thanks!

    • I like this lady’s newsletter. It’s more in eastern mass but give her a call – for the past few years I’ve enjoyed her thoughtful newsletter. That’s always a good indictaion of a smart person.

      I hope that helps.

      Best / John

Leave a Reply

