Film Industry Cycle

I made this video for public accountants, but after viewing it a few times I realized it would be excellent for emerging producers.

I’m going to expand it a bit to include more about ownership and distribution. Let me know what you think!

Cheers / John

About filmproduction
I have worked in the film production industry since 1985, working on over 50 different productions of every size in 6 different countries. My self-published book, "Walk The Talk" is written in an easy to read manner for film students and working professionals who haven't had the chance to learn how to 'Direct the Money'.

5 Responses to Film Industry Cycle

  1. Tom Garrett says:

    John, This is GREAT!! I need to get you to Houston area!! Need to have you do online courses for SHSU Film & Business programs.

    • Thx, Tom. I really enjoyed the U of Tampa visit; I’d love to meet your new home at Sam Houston Stae University. I am just about to release a series of Film Accounting & Auditing online courses. As I was developing them I realized that several areas would be perfect for emerging producers – especially the Film Industry Cycle and the financing through the various State Tax Incentive programs (I also give reference to the Federal Section 181 potential financing). And, those two areas don’t even touch on all the necessities of knowing how to manage cost reports and film budgets.

      So, I’m embarking on a series of 1 hour mini-courses with a mix of 3 to 5 minute videos, short multiple choice quizzes (with feedback of solutions). They’ll be as simple as – Wanna Find Work In Film Production: Know Petty Cash, Know How to Handle Deal memos, etc through to as complex as Creating a Professional Film Budget Template, Tips On Production Managing the Cost Report, Tips On How to Finance With State Tax Credits, etc.

      Do you think 1 hour is too long for film school students? Also, I’ll want to charge a minimal fee – would $20 per hour be unreal?

      Cheers, Tom. ALWAYS good to hear from you!
      -John

  2. chaney says:

    Looks very interesting. Is this a download or is it part of a seminar?

  3. Thx for commenting. The video is part of an online sourse – it’s Part 1 of 4. It takes a couple of hours to go through. You can learn more about it on http://www.talkfilm.biz/filmaccounting-cpe.htm

    -John

  4. Shanaya Vora says:

    Thank you so much for putting this video! first time I heard about film accounting. Glad that i got the knowledge. http://www.name2fame.com

Leave a Reply

